The FT/OppenheimerFunds Emerging Voices Awards, aims to recognise extraordinary artistic talent in three categories – fiction literature, film-making and art across more than 100 emerging market nations.

How do Caribbean Filmmakers fit in here, you ask?  Let’s see.

Well, the Emerging Voices Awards will be open to passport holders of emerging nations in three categories:
1. Africa and the Middle East: including, but not limited to, paintings, drawings, sculptures, installations, photographs, prints and mixed media.
2. Asia-Pacific: Works of fiction published in English.
3. Latin America and the Caribbean: Films in any language with English subtitles.

The judges aim to reward those in each of the eligible art forms whose work shows outstanding talent and in some way furthers understanding of their region.

The Awards, which will be decided by a panel of international judges, will reward the most compelling works of fiction, film and art from emerging market countries and will recognise:

  • the most distinguished artists in a variety of media in Africa and the Middle East
  • the best creators of published fiction in English or English translation in Asia-Pacific
  • the top film-makers in Latin America or the Caribbean

To Qualify:
The Award for the best short film will be presented to the director of a film completed or released in one of the eligible countries in Latin America or the Caribbean region. The film must be directed by a national or passport holder of one of the eligible countries and must have been completed or made available for distribution for the first time between 1 January, 2015 and 31 March, 2016.  The film can be in any language, but if it is not in English, it must have English subtitles.  The film can be up to 40 minutes long, including opening and closing credits.  Submissions from nominators on an Entrant’s behalf are welcome.

The Eligible Caribbean countries are:
Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname.

The winning director will receive an award of $40,000 (the “Prize”). A longlist will be announced on 6 June, 2016.  This will be followed by the announcement of three finalists on 5 August, who will be invited to attend an awards ceremony in New York on 26 September, 2016, at which the winner will be announced (the “Awards Ceremony”).  Shortlisted runners up will each receive $5,000.

Submission Deadline: 3 May

For full rules and eligibility criteria, go here.  To submit your project, go here.

Best of luck!!